Saturday, July 17, 2010


The Outlander Series By Diana Gabaldon

Are you a fan of the Outlander Series like me? Have you heard of this series? Well if not, then let me introduce you to a wonderful series, one that will captivate you from the very beginning.


The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon-when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach--an "outlander"--in a Scotland torn by war and raiding Highland clans in the year of Our Lord...1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into intrigues and dangers that may threaten her life...and shatter her heart. For here she meets James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, and becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire...and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Novels in the Outlander Series


Outlander, published in 1991, is the 1st book in the series. (Published as Cross Stitch in the UK.) This book introduces the main characters of Claire Beauchamp Fraser and Jaime Fraser, and is set in 18th century and 20th century Scotland.

 Dragonfly in Amber

Published in 1992, Dragonfly continues the story and is set in 18th century Scotland and France, and 20th century America. The plot involves the 1745 Rising and the Battle of Culloden.


Published in December of 1993, Voyager moves the story from Scotland to America, via the West Indies.

 Drums of Autumn
Published in 1997, Drums of Autumn continues the series in America, beginning with 1767 Charleston through 1770.

 The Fiery Cross
Fiery Cross, published in 2001, is set in the United States and covers the pre-Revolutionary War period from 1770 to 1772.

A Breath of Snow and Ashes
The 6th book in the series, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, was published in 2005. The book begins in 1772 and carries us through to the eve of the Revolutionary War.

An Echo in the Bone
Diana Gabaldon’s sweeping Outlander saga reaches new heights in An Echo in the Bone.

About this author

Diana Jean Gabaldon Watkins grew up in Flagstaff, Arizona and is of Mexican-American and English descent. She has earned three degrees: a B.S. in Zoology, a M.S. in Marine Biology, and a Ph.D in Ecology.

She currently lives in Scottsdale, Arizona .

Diana Gabaldons Official Website:
Author’s Blog:

Favourite Quotes from this series:

Oh, Claire, ye do break my heart wi' loving you." 

Blood of my Blood," he whispered, "and bone of my bone. You carry me within ye, Claire, and ye canna leave me now, no matter what happens, You are mine, always, if ye will it or no, if ye want me or nay. Mine, and I wilna let ye go." 


  1. How on earth will we ever have to time to read all the wonderful books out there Emma?

  2. Hi, I've been meaning to start reading the series, however I've been "warrned" that it's chick lit. What do you think?

  3. You just won an award! Come by my blog and claim it :)


  4. Several years ago, some friends made me aware of this series. It's not usually my cup of tea, but then I heard it had a tie-in to my favorite TV show of all-time, "Doctor Who."

    Apparently, Jamie in the novels is based on the companion Jamie from the show. So, I had to pick it up and read it.

    Yeah, not exactly my cup of tea, but it was still interesting. LOL